Children's Book Awards



The John Newbery Award began in 1922. Named after John Newbery (1713-1767), an English publisher and bookseller who was the first person to ever print and sell books for children, this medal is given each year to the author whose new book makes the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

2017 John Newbery Medal: The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers/Workman)

Newbery Medal Winners 1922 - Present

Randolph Caldecott Award

Named after English artist and illustrator Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886), the Caldecott Medal was first given in 1938. It is awarded each year to the illustrator of the most distinguished new American picture book for children.

2017 Caldecott Medal: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

Caldecott Medal Winners, 1938 - Present

Red Clover Award

The Red Clover Award is a Vermont children's choice award. Named after the state flower, the Red Clover Award began in 1997 and is given each year to the picture book Vermont students in grades K-4 vote as their favorite from a list of 10 pre-selected books.

2017 Red Clover Award: Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker. Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Red Clover Award Winners, 1997 - Present

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Named after Vermont writer Dorothy Canfield Fisher (1879-1958), the DCF Award is a Vermont children's choice book award that began in 1957. Students in grades 4-8 who have read at least five books from a pre-selected list of 30 fiction and nonfiction chapter books may vote for their favorite. Whichever book receives the most votes is the DCF book winner for that year.

2017 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award: The Terrible Two by Jory John and Mac Barnett

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award Winners, 1957 - Present

Pura Belpré Award

Established in 1996, this Award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Awards honor a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of children's or young adult literature.

2017 Belpré Medal: Juana & Lucas, written and illustrated by Juana Medina and (Candlewick Press)

Pura Belpré Award Winners, 1996 - Present

Coretta Scott King Award

First given in 1970, the Coretta Scott King Award annually recognizes an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults.

2017 Coretta Scott King Author Award: March Book: Three by Congressman John Lewis and Andrew Aydin (Top Shelf Productions, an imprint of IDW Publishing, a division of Idea and Design Works LLC)

2017 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe, author and illustrator (Little, Brown and Company)

Coretta Scott King Award Winners, 1970 - Present

Geisel Award

The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. Begun in 2006, the award is named after Theodor Seuss Geisel, Dr. Seuss' real name.

2017 Geisel Award: We Are Growing: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book, written and illustrated by Laurie Keller (Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group)

Geisel Award Winners, 2006 - Present